top of page

welcome to my obsession

hi guys, welcome to my first ever blog post!

how exciting! please excuse any grammar mistakes as apparently this platform doesn't do spellcheck. this is me and my two muses who happen to share a love of all things photogrpahic in nature as well. i guess passion runs in the blood and is passed on through it.



I first started my photographic journey after i saw my first aurora australis. i was hooked! to stand under a night sky and watch her dance for the first time is a real life changing moment. it conquered my fear of being out in the dark and it also pushed me to capture it on my dslr. of course i had no idea what i was doing and the images looked like shit but i was hooked like a addict at a meth convention lol. this also made me learn manual settings on the camera and soon was capturing award winning images such as my fav the sunset at fortrose.

fast forward a year or so and it comes time to buy a house. my main criteria was, of course, a clear view south . i adore my backyard view and the fact that i dont have to travel to see her dance in the night sky ( while i shout and cheer her on much to my neighbours disgust lol ). this also happens to be a addiction ive passed onto the kids who love watching the beams streak and move across the sky.

soon i was evolving my shooting into something more than night sky chasing and the bookings started rolling in. but i quickly found that i really had a passion to pet photography. soon i had a diploma in digital photography and a diploma in wedding phtography.

wedding photography as you can see from my website has my heart as well. i love everything about it apart from crying at the ceremony and sweet images i take. ive really enjoyed my last year off weddings as its given me time to focus on refining my style. and learn new editing techniques and platforms. one of those platforms is lensbaby lenses. i have been overly blessed by this company who have decided to partner with me and help me achieve my in camera artistic shooting. being a huge fan of lensbaby this came as a dream come true and an opportunity i could not turn down. you might notice some of my images look abit different and this is primarialy because of shooting with lensbaby products. the sweet optics and edge optics are my fav as they capture flares like no other lens possibly can.


above is a sweet series optic image. i adore it for the flare and the sharpness and the radial blur. there is nothing like it and the the images it produces.

and here we have a edge series optic. that rainbow flare has me drooling with love EVERYTIME i use it. instead of a radial blur, it produces a slice of focus and blurs out from there. full drama and beautiful unique images. i could seriously rave on about lensbaby till the cows come home, but i wont because i dont you to ' mentally checkout' lol.

I have a wee range of other lenses i use, my russian glass helios from the 1960's which produces a glorious swirl of bokeh ( see example below ).


then i have some 'toys' i like to pull out at session. these consist of a fractal set. if you dont know about fractals let me fill you in. fractals are just prisms. big chunks of glass. you hold them in front of your lens and shoot through them to get some wicked cool results! flares, double exposure type, mistiness or haze, new backgrounds honestly the possibilities are endless with a fractal in front of the lens. i also have a lensbaby omni system. super cool wee prisms and films that magnetise to the front of your lens adaptor and shoot through them or just bring them in and perfection is created. so if im shooting and i pull out my toys, dont freak out, trust in the whackiness that is art. because at the heart of it, thats what i consider myself, a phot-art-grapher not a photographer.

im literally at a loss as what else to include in my first ever blog post so will leave it at that, a simple introduction to me and my shooting. maybe next blog ill rave on about my chicken and goat, who knows?



40 views0 comments
bottom of page